

## Reference: Education Code Section 5000 et seq. and 72036

The term of office of each trustee shall be four (4) years, commencing on the second Friday in December, following the November election. Elections shall be held every two years, in even numbered years. Terms of trustees are staggered so that, as nearly as practical, one half of the trustees shall be elected at each trustee election.

The Board of Trustees has provided for the election of trustees by trustee areas. Trustee areas are as follows:

- Area 1 Coalinga
- Area 2 Firebaugh, Mendota
- Area 3 Avenal, Stratford
- Area 4 Lemoore Northeast
- Area 5 Riverdale, Huron
- Area 6 Tranquillity, Lanare, Mendota, San Joaquin, Cantua Creek
- Area 7 Lemoore Southwest, NAS Lemoore

The election of a Board member residing in and registered to vote in the trustee area he/she seeks to represent shall be only by the registered voters of the same trustee area.

The Chancellor shall submit recommendations to the Board regarding adjustments to be made to the boundaries of each trustee area, if any adjustment is necessary, after each decennial federal census. The Chancellor shall submit the recommendation in time for the Board to act as required by law.

Board approval date: 5/20/03 Reviewed/Revised: 9/27/11; 7/23/19